Message from the National Spiritual Assembly – 26 April 2021

Posted: 2021/04/27

26 April 2021 / 19 Glory 178

All Local Spiritual Assemblies
All Regional Bahá’í Councils
All Registered Groups

Dear Bahá’í Friends,

The newly-elected National Spiritual Assembly convened for the first time yesterday to elect its officers and to draw lots to identify Canada’s representatives to a special gathering in the Holy Land for the Centenary Commemoration of the Ascension of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá in November 2021. Those elected to serve as officers of the National Assembly for the coming year are as follows: Deloria Bighorn – Chair; Ciprian Jauca – Vice-chair; Mehran Anvari – Treasurer and Karen McKye – Secretary.

In relation to the second task, it was with great joy that the National Assembly drew lots from among currently serving members of the National Assembly and each Regional Bahá’í Council, as guided by the Universal House of Justice. National Assemblies had been asked to select two representatives through this process of drawing lots, one for its female members and another for its male members, where applicable. One representative of each Regional Council was to be selected by drawing lots from among those who are serving as members of the Regional Councils.

Through this process, two representatives of our Assembly were chosen to attend the gathering on our behalf, Hoda Farahmandpour and Ciprian Jauca. The names of the following friends were drawn from among the membership of Regional Bahá’í Councils and they will therefore have the honour of participating in this historic event: Alberta – Tony Liu; Atlantic Provinces – Kelley Wright; British Columbia – Tabasom Eblaghie; Ontario – Melanie Vafaie; Quebec – Gregory Fortin-Vidah; and Saskatchewan and Manitoba – Melody Asdaghi.

We know you will join the National Assembly in prayers for these friends as they join fellow believers from around the world, conditions permitting, in seven short months.

With loving Bahá’í greetings,

Karen McKye, Secretary